An illustrated Irish town street at golden hour: terraced houses, a café, people walking with phones, and a mobile mast on the hill behind

Independent guide · Ireland

Irish SIM-only plans, explained.

Lidl Connect, ten other providers and how to switch, in plain words. Every price links to its source and shows the date it was checked.

  • 11 plans compared
  • 10 switching guides
  • Every fact sourced
  • No sign-up, no commission

Lidl Connect launch offer

Unlimited 5G for

€8.99a month
for life

€12.99 standard price · €48 a year less, as reported by Goosed.ie, Irish Examiner, The Irish Times.

For the first 100,000 customers or until 31 December 2026, whichever comes first, once per Lidl Plus account. Reported by the press; Lidl's official price list shows €12.99.

A year of unlimited data

  1. Lidl Connect, launch offer €107.88
  2. Lidl Connect, standard price €155.88
  3. GoMo Mobile €168.87
  4. eir Connect 30-day €189.87
  5. Three SIM Core €240
  6. Vodafone Data Unlimited 5G (pay as you go) €260

First-year cost with intro prices and activation fees; 28-day plans counted 13 times. Prices checked 2026-10-10. All eleven plans

Lidl Connect

€12.99 a month on eir.

Lidl Connect is Lidl's SIM-only plan in Ireland, sold in the Lidl Plus app since 5 October 2026. One plan: unlimited data in Ireland, 50GB roaming in the EU and EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova, a free eSIM and no contract. Over a year it costs €155.88 at its official price.

Price
€12.99 a month, no activation fee[1]
Launch offer
€8.99 for life, first 100,000 customersreported by Goosed.ie[2][3][4]
Network
eir, with 5G, VoLTE and WiFi calling[5]
In Ireland
Unlimited data, calls and texts, no throttling[6]
Abroad
50GB a month in the EU and EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova; nothing outside[6]
SIM
Free eSIM, or a €0.99 physical SIM in store[7]
Contract
None: monthly, cancel any time[5]

Everything about Lidl Connect →

An illustrated smartphone on a sunny shop counter beside a small blank SIM pack, bread and apples

What you can do here

Choose. Switch. Set up.

  1. Illustrated SIM cards in soft colours fanned out, one green card raised above the others
    01

    Compare

    Eleven unlimited plans, one table.

    Sorted by what you pay in the first year, with 28-day plans counted as 13 payments and activation fees added.

    Compare plans →
  2. Two illustrated smartphones on a table with a green arc of light carrying a SIM card from one to the other
    02

    Switch

    Keep your number. Lose nothing you can keep.

    Exit fees, notice and unused credit for every Irish provider, from the law and their own terms.

    How switching works →
  3. An illustrated smartphone with a small glowing chip of light hovering above its screen
    03

    Set up

    SIM or eSIM, in the right order.

    Which SIM stays in your phone while the number moves, and what to check once you are across.

    Sign up and activate →

Compare

The cheapest SIM-only plans in Ireland.

Unlimited SIM-only plans in Ireland, checked 2026-10-10
ProviderNetworkPriceFirst yearData5GeSIMEU roamingContractActivation
48 Three €12.99 a month €147.87 Unlimited Yes Not stated 20GB None, monthly prepay €9.99
Clear Mobile Vodafone €12.99 a month €155.88 Unlimited 5G Yes No 23GB 30 days, rolling €12.99
Lidl Connect eir €12.99 a month €155.88 Unlimited, no throttling Yes Yes 50GB None, monthly €0
GoMo eir €12.99 a month €168.87 All 5G data, 120GB fair use threshold Yes Yes 23GB 30 days, rolling €12.99
Tesco Mobile Three €30 a month €180 Unlimited Yes Not stated 36.95GB 12 months €0

Prices checked on 2026-10-10 on each provider’s own page. 28-day plans are charged 13 times a year. First-year cost includes intro prices and activation fees. Lidl Connect is shown at its official price; the €8.99 launch price is reported by the press, not in Lidl’s price list.

See all eleven plans →

How we work

The facts, and where they come from.

Official sources first

Providers’ own terms and price lists, ComReg and Irish law. Press-only claims are marked “reported”.

Dated and re-checked

Every fact shows when it was checked. Nothing goes more than 30 days without a new check.

Independent

No commission, no adverts, no affiliate links. Sign-up links go straight to the provider.

Frequently asked questions

Is IrishSim part of Lidl or a mobile operator?

No. IrishSim is an independent guide. It is not affiliated with Lidl, 1GLOBAL, eir or any operator, and it sells nothing.

Does IrishSim cover eSIM plans?

Yes. Every plan in the comparison shows whether the provider offers eSIM, and the Lidl Connect eSIM guide covers setting one up.

Can I sign up for a plan through IrishSim?

No. IrishSim has no forms and no accounts. Every sign-up link goes to the provider’s own page or app.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  2. Lidl Connect launches in Ireland with €8.99 unlimited 5G SIM-only plan, Goosed.ie, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
  3. Lidl enters Irish mobile phone market with €8.99 a month offer, Irish Examiner, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
  4. Retailer Lidl enters Irish mobile market, The Irish Times, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)
  5. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  6. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  7. Are there any extra costs for a physical SIM?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-10)Official