Can you leave your mobile contract early?

Lidl Connect has no contract, but the plan you are leaving may. This page explains how long Irish mobile contracts can run, when you can leave without a fee, what an early exit costs, whether a price rise lets you go, and what each provider's terms say, so you can work out the cost before you switch.

Last updated:

An illustrated blank sheet of paper with a pen and scissors beside a smartphone
On this page
  1. How long can a mobile contract in Ireland be?
  2. Can you leave your mobile contract early once the minimum term ends?
  3. What is the mobile contract exit fee if you leave early?
  4. Do mobile price rises let you leave without a fee?
  5. What about a phone you are still paying for?
  6. How do you find your contract end date?
  7. What does each provider charge to leave a contract?

How long can a mobile contract in Ireland be?

At most 24 months for a consumer. Regulation 89(2) of S.I. No. 444/2022 says a provider "shall not conclude a contract with a consumer that mandates a commitment period longer than 24 months". SIM-only contracts are usually shorter: 12 months at Vodafone, Three, Tesco Mobile and Virgin Mobile, or 30 days rolling at many others.

Lidl Connect itself has no minimum term. It is a "monthly prepaid plan with no contract", and 1GLOBAL's terms let you cancel "at any time, for any reason, without cost or penalty".

Can you leave your mobile contract early once the minimum term ends?

Yes, without an exit fee. Once a fixed term rolls over, Regulation 89(5)(b) lets you end the contract "at any time with a maximum one-month notice period", paying only for service during the notice. Your provider must also remind you at least a month before the term ends and give you its best tariff advice.

Several providers say a switch replaces that notice. Vodafone's terms let you end the agreement "by giving us at least 30 days' notice or by Porting to another mobile Network Operator". eir says a month's notice is needed "unless you are Switching or Changing Service Provider". Three, 48, Clear Mobile and An Post Mobile say the agreement ends when the port completes.

GoMo's 30-day plan charges a month if you cancel without 30 days' notice. GoMo also says not to cancel first when you move your number: the service closes when the move completes. It does not say whether the notice charge applies to a port.

What is the mobile contract exit fee if you leave early?

Usually the monthly price for every month left in the minimum term, paid at once. ComReg describes the fee as "usually based on the remaining months and the monthly cost of your plan". Vodafone, Three, eir, Tesco Mobile and Virgin Mobile all use that formula. Rolling and prepay plans have no exit fee.

Example: a €20 SIM-only plan with five months left costs €100 to leave. Compare that with what you would save on Lidl Connect over the same months before deciding; the savings calculator works out a year.

Three counts part months as whole months. Vodafone adds a device subsidy if you keep a phone you have not paid off. eir may "apply full termination charges, to recover the cost of the phone".

Do mobile price rises let you leave without a fee?

Not when the rise is written into your contract. ComReg says "if your contract includes a built-in price increase, you generally cannot switch or exit your contract without a penalty, unless you are outside your minimum term". A change your contract did not provide for is different: you must get a month's notice and can leave without cost.

Built-in rises are common. Vodafone, Three and eir add €2.50 a month each April to SIM-only plans, and more to handset plans. Older Three and eir contracts use CPI plus 3%. Tesco Mobile promises no annual increase on bill pay plans signed before December 2026; GoMo and 48 advertise prices that do not rise.

For other changes, Regulation 89 requires at least one month's notice and a right to leave without cost, unless the change is only to your benefit, purely administrative or required by law. Lidl Connect's price for life works the other way: the price cannot rise while you stay on the plan.

What about a phone you are still paying for?

Keeping a subsidised phone is the one thing the law lets a provider charge for when you have a legal right to leave, capped at the smaller of its pro-rata value and the service fees left. When you simply leave early, the contract's exit fee applies, and the provider must unlock the phone free once compensation is paid.

ComReg notes that phones sold on contract are "typically" locked to the network. Lidl Connect needs an unlocked phone. Unlock rules differ: Three unlocks free after the minimum term, Tesco Mobile likewise, Vodafone after 12 months or €200 spent, eir prepay after €120 of top-ups, and Virgin Media says phones it sold are already unlocked.

On Virgin Media's Freestyle contracts you pay the phone balance separately, by calling 1908.

How do you find your contract end date?

Look at your last bill or your provider's app or online account, which usually shows the minimum term end date. Your provider must also write to you at least a month before the term ends, on a durable medium such as an email or letter, with its best tariff advice. If in doubt, ask the provider in writing.

What does each provider charge to leave a contract?

This table shows each provider's minimum terms, exit fee formula, notice and annual price rules from its own terms, checked for this page. Prepay providers have no contract, so they charge nothing to leave, though unused credit has its own rules. Open a provider for the full detail and the steps to switch.

Leaving a contract early, by provider
ProviderMinimum termExit feeNoticePrice changes
GoMo30 daysNo exit fee; if you cancel without 30 days’ notice you are charged one month30 daysNone: GoMo keeps a price for life on the sign-up dates it lists
48Prepay only: no contractNoneNoneNone found: 48 advertises “No annual price hikes”
eirThe minimum period of your contract; SIM only plans are 30-dayDuring the minimum period: the sum of the monthly charges left until it ends; eir may also recover the cost of a phone30 days in writing, but not needed when you are switching provider+€2.50 a month each April on SIM only plans and +€3.50 on handset plans (contracts from 6 February 2025); CPI + 3% on older contracts; it does not give you a right to leave
Vodafone24 months with a phone, 12 months SIM only, or a 30-day rolling SIM only planThe monthly plan charge for the time left on your minimum term, plus a device subsidy if you keep a phone30 days, or porting to another network instead+€2.50 a month each April on SIM only plans and +€3.50 on handset plans; it does not usually give you a right to cancel without penalty
Three12 or 24 months, or a 30-day SIM only planYour monthly charge multiplied by the months, including part months, left on the minimum term30 days in writing+€2.50 a month each April on SIM only plans and +€3 on other plans (contracts from 13 August 2025); CPI + 3% on older contracts
Tesco Mobile24 months with a phone, 12 months SIM only, or 30-day rollingIn contract: outstanding charges plus the monthly charges for the rest of the minimum term, also when you port out30 days, written or by phoneNo annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026
Clear Mobile30 days, rollingNone: there is no fixed term30 days, or ends on completion of portingClear does not state an annual price change
Virgin Mobile12 months on every SIM only planYour monthly price multiplied by the time left in the contract, as a lump sum, plus any phone balance30 days (Freephone 1908)Virgin Media does not state the price after the first 12 months on the €15 plan
An Post MobilePrepay only: no contractNoneNoneAn Post Mobile does not state an annual price change
LycamobilePrepay only: no contractNoneNoneLycamobile does not state an annual price change

Frequently asked questions

Does switching count as giving notice?

For Vodafone, eir, Three, 48, Clear Mobile and An Post Mobile, their terms say the agreement ends when the port completes. Virgin Media does not say. GoMo charges a month for cancelling without notice but tells you not to cancel when you port.

Will my phone be unlocked when I leave?

Not automatically. Ask your provider: most unlock free after the minimum term, and the law requires a free unlock once any compensation is paid. Virgin Media says phones it sold are already unlocked.

What if my broadband discount depends on my mobile plan?

Leaving can raise the broadband price. GoMo Fibre Broadband goes from €29.99 to €39.99 a month if GoMo Mobile is cancelled; Vodafone’s RED Essentials discount needs another Vodafone plan.

Is Lidl Connect itself a contract?

Not a fixed-term one. Lidl calls it a monthly prepaid plan with no contract. It renews each month until you cancel, and the 1GLOBAL terms let you cancel at any time without cost.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. S.I. No. 444/2022 European Union (Electronic Communications Code) Regulations 2022, Irish Statute Book, 2022-09-06 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  2. Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  3. Annual Price Increases, ComReg, 2025-04-08 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  4. Mobile Handset Unlock Codes, ComReg, 2019-02-15 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  5. Regulatory Guidance on Title III: End-User Rights of the EECC (20/111R3), ComReg, 2026-04-02 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  6. Lidl Connect Terms and Conditions, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  7. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  8. Terms and conditions (general terms from 19 February 2026, plan terms), Vodafone Ireland, 2026-02-19 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  9. Annual price adjustment, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  10. The General Terms of Three Service, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  11. Bill pay price guide, Three Ireland, 2026-06-01 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  12. Unlocking policy, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  13. Terms and Conditions of the eir Mobile Service, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  14. How to cancel a service, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  15. Annual price increase, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  16. General terms and conditions (and plan contract summaries), Tesco Mobile Ireland, 2026-07-10 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  17. No annual price increases, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  18. Can I unlock my Tesco Mobile phone?, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  19. €15 SIM only plan terms, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  20. Ending your plan, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  21. What is a Freestyle contract?, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  22. Unlocking your phone, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  23. GoMo Mobile terms and conditions, GoMo, 2026-05-01 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  24. Cancel or moving home, GoMo (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  25. Pricing, GoMo (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  26. 48 Service Terms & Conditions, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  27. General terms, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  28. General terms and conditions, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official