SIM-only plans in Ireland, side by side
Eleven unlimited SIM-only plans in Ireland, one per provider, side by side: the cheapest plan each offers with unlimited data. The table sorts by what you pay in the first year, including intro prices and activation fees, with 28-day plans counted as 13 payments. Every price comes from the provider's own page.
Last updated:

On this page
What is the cheapest unlimited SIM-only plan for a year?
On first-year cost, 48's Unlimited 5G at €147.87, thanks to its introductory price. Lidl Connect, at its official €12.99 a month with no activation fee, costs €155.88. From the second year several plans meet at about €12.99 a month, and roaming data, network and contract decide between them.
| Provider | Network | Price | First year | Data | 5G | eSIM | EU roaming | Contract | Activation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 48 | Three | €12.99a month | €147.87 | Unlimited | Yes | Not stated | 20GB | None, monthly prepay | €9.99 |
| Clear Mobile | Vodafone | €12.99a month | €155.88 | Unlimited 5G | Yes | No | 23GB | 30 days, rolling | €12.99 |
| Lidl Connect | eir | €12.99a month | €155.88 | Unlimited, no throttling | Yes | Yes | 50GB | None, monthly | €0 |
| GoMo | eir | €12.99a month | €168.87 | All 5G data, 120GB fair use threshold | Yes | Yes | 23GB | 30 days, rolling | €12.99 |
| Tesco Mobile | Three | €30a month | €180 | Unlimited | Yes | Not stated | 36.95GB | 12 months | €0 |
| Virgin Mobile | Not stated | €15a month | €180 | Unlimited | No | Not stated | 32GB | 12 months | €0 |
| eir | eir | €29.99a month | €189.87 | Unlimited, no fair use cap | Yes | Yes | 45GB | 30 days | €9.99 |
| An Post Mobile | Vodafone | €18every 28 days | €234 | Unlimited (120GB fair use in the terms) | Not stated | Not stated | 25GB | None, prepay | €0 |
| Three | Three | €20a month | €240 | Unlimited (All You Can Eat) | Yes | Yes | 35GB | 12 months | €0 |
| Vodafone | Vodafone | €20every 28 days | €260 | Unlimited | Yes | Yes | 45GB | None, prepay | €0 |
| Lycamobile | eir | €25.98every 28 days | €350.73 | Unlimited | Not stated | Yes | 20GB | None, prepay | €12.99 |
Prices checked on 2026-10-10 on each provider’s own page. 28-day plans are charged 13 times a year. First-year cost includes intro prices and activation fees. Lidl Connect is shown at its official price (€12.99); the €8.99 launch price is reported by the press, not in Lidl’s price list.
How should you read this table?
First-year cost is twelve monthly payments, or thirteen for 28-day plans, plus any activation fee, with introductory prices counted for as long as they last. It is what you would actually pay in your first twelve months. "Not stated" means the provider's own pages do not say, not that the answer is no.
- Lidl Connect is shown at €12.99, the only price in 1GLOBAL's price list. The €8.99 launch price was reported by the press for the first 100,000 customers; this table does not assume it.
- Intro prices end: 48 is €9.99 for six plans, eir €14.99 for twelve months, Tesco Mobile €15 for twelve months online, Clear Mobile's first month is free.
- Activation fees are one-off: GoMo, Clear Mobile and Lycamobile €12.99; 48 and eir €9.99; Lidl Connect none.
- Contracts lock you in: Three, Tesco Mobile and Virgin Mobile are 12 months; see leaving a contract early.
Which SIM-only plans use the same network?
Ireland has three networks. On eir: Lidl Connect, GoMo, eir, Lycamobile. On Vodafone: Clear Mobile, An Post Mobile, Vodafone. On Three: 48, Tesco Mobile, Three. Virgin Mobile does not name its network. Plans on the same network share masts, so coverage is the same; price, data limits, roaming and support are what differ.
Which SIM-only plans include eSIM?
eSIM is confirmed on Lidl Connect, GoMo, eir, Vodafone, Three, Lycamobile. Clear Mobile says it offers physical SIM cards only. For 48, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile, An Post Mobile, we did not find eSIM stated on the provider's own pages, so the table shows "Not stated". If you want eSIM, check with those providers before you order.
Lidl Connect's eSIM is free and installed through the Lidl Plus app; see Lidl Connect eSIM.
Which plan gives the most EU roaming data?
Among these representative plans, Lidl Connect's 50GB is the most, followed by eir Connect and Vodafone pay as you go at 45GB. Some dearer plans give more: Vodafone's Ultra bill pay plan includes 80GB and Three's 30-day Flex plan 60GB. The cheapest rivals, GoMo, Clear Mobile and 48, give 20 to 23GB.
Roaming covers the EU and EEA, and on most plans the UK. Lidl Connect also includes Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova, and has no roaming anywhere else; see Lidl Connect roaming.
Frequently asked questions
Why does the table show Lidl Connect at €12.99?
Because €12.99 is the only price in 1GLOBAL’s official price list. The €8.99 launch price is reported by the press and is not on an official Lidl page we found.
Are activation fees included in the first-year cost?
Yes. First-year cost adds any one-off activation fee to twelve months of payments, or thirteen for 28-day plans, with intro prices counted while they last.
How often is this SIM-only table checked?
Each row shows the date its price was checked on the provider’s own page. The release process refuses to publish when a checked date is more than 30 days old.
How do you compare SIM-only plans fairly?
Compare what you pay over a year, not the monthly headline: count 13 payments for 28-day plans, add activation fees, and remember intro prices end. Then weigh network, roaming data and contract length.
Why is there only one plan per provider?
To compare like with like: each row is the cheapest plan the provider sells with unlimited data. Lycamobile’s cheaper bundles slow down after 100GB, so its unlimited bundle is shown.
Where these facts come from
Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.
- Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Pricing, GoMo (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Buy a plan, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Clear Mobile, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Getting started, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- SIM only, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- SIM only plans, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Mobile shop, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Totally Unlimited, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- SIM only pay as you go, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- SIM only bill pay plans, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- SIM only plans, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- eSIM, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Pay as you go SIM bundles, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- 3G retirement, ComReg (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect launches in Ireland with €8.99 unlimited 5G SIM-only plan, Goosed.ie, 2026-09-28 (checked 2026-10-10)