Lidl Connect vs Clear Mobile
Clear Mobile and Lidl Connect cost the same over a first year: both €12.99 a month, Clear with a free first month but a €12.99 activation fee. Clear runs on Vodafone's network and offers physical SIMs only; Lidl Connect runs on eir and offers eSIM. Clear's terms also conflict about speed caps.
Last updated:

On this page
- Is Lidl Connect cheaper than Clear Mobile?
- What does Clear Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?
- Is Clear Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?
- How do you switch from Clear Mobile to Lidl Connect on bill pay?
- What do you lose when you leave Clear Mobile?
- What else should Clear Mobile customers know before moving?
- Does Clear Mobile cap speeds?
Is Lidl Connect cheaper than Clear Mobile?
Over a first year they cost the same, €155.88. Clear Mobile's Bill pay is €12.99 a month, counted with its intro price and its activation fee; Lidl Connect is €12.99 a month with no activation fee, at its official price. From the second year Clear and Lidl Connect cost the same.
| Lidl Connect | Clear Mobile | |
|---|---|---|
| Plan | Lidl Connect Unlimited | Bill pay |
| Price | €12.99 a month | €12.99 a month (€0 for the first 1) |
| First-year cost | €155.88 | €155.88 |
| Network | eir | Vodafone |
| Data in Ireland | Unlimited, no throttling | Unlimited 5G |
| 5G | Yes | Yes |
| eSIM | Yes | No |
| EU roaming data | 50GB | 23GB |
| Contract | None, monthly | 30 days, rolling |
| Activation fee | €0 | €12.99 |
| Price changes | Price for life on the same plan | Clear does not state an annual price change |
These figures use each provider's own published price, checked on 2026-10-10. Lidl Connect is shown at €12.99, the only price in 1GLOBAL's price list; the press reported a lower launch price for the first customers, which this comparison does not assume.
What does Clear Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?
Clear runs on Vodafone's network, which may serve your area better than eir, and its rolling 30-day plan ends as soon as your number moves. It offers a first month free and refunds within 5 to 7 working days by bank transfer or account credit.
- Vodafone's network, if it is stronger where you are.
- A free first month for new customers.
- No fixed term: the agreement ends when the port completes.
Is Clear Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?
No. Clear Mobile says it "runs on the Vodafone network", and ComReg lists it there; Lidl Connect runs on eir's. Check eir's coverage at your home and work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map before you leave. If Vodafone's coverage suits you, An Post Mobile also runs on it.
Lidl Connect runs on eir. Before you move from a provider on a different network, check eir's coverage at home and at work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map ↗.
How do you switch from Clear Mobile to Lidl Connect on bill pay?
Clear is a 30-day rolling plan with no exit fee. Its terms end the agreement "on the completion of the Porting process", so you do not need to give the 30 days' notice. Clear bills usage for the period before you port out. Clear's pages do not say where the account number is; ask in its live chat.
Check your contract
30 days, rolling. Leaving early: none: there is no fixed term. See leaving a contract early.
Find your account number
Your number and account number; Clear does not say where the account number is, ask in its live chat.
Start the move in Lidl Plus
Choose to keep your number when you sign up for Lidl Connect. Do not cancel your old plan first: the move ends it for you when it completes.
Keep your old SIM in
Keep your old SIM in your phone until the move is done: a verification code is sent to it by text.
Notice and the last bill
Notice: 30 days, or ends on completion of porting. When the port completes: yes: porting away is treated as ending the agreement. Final bill: usage for the billing period before you port out, plus other relevant charges; later roaming charges may follow.
What do you lose when you leave Clear Mobile?
You lose unused credit and benefits, which Clear's terms say "will not transfer and will be lost", and the €12.99 activation fee you paid. Clear does not state an annual price change. If you need eSIM, moving gains you that: Clear offers physical SIM cards only.
- Unused credit and benefits, which do not transfer.
- The €12.99 activation fee you paid (non-refundable).
- Price changes on Clear Mobile: Clear does not state an annual price change.
What else should Clear Mobile customers know before moving?
For Clear customers the choice is mostly about network and eSIM, since the price is the same. Clear's own documents conflict twice: on speed caps, where the home page says none and the plan terms cap speeds, and on support, where the terms list a phone line the 2026 charter says does not exist.
Clear Mobile's code of practice and complaints process: clearmobile.ie ↗. Live chat only (the 2026 charter says there is no phone channel).
- Clear Mobile offers physical SIM cards only; Lidl Connect offers eSIM too.
- Clear runs on Vodafone’s network; Lidl Connect runs on eir’s.
- Clear’s home page says “No speed caps”, but its plan terms PDF (from 20 March 2025) caps 5G at 25 Mbps and 4G at 10 Mbps. (The PDF may be out of date.)
- Clear refunds by bank transfer or account credit within 5–7 working days, but has no separate refund policy.
Does Clear Mobile cap speeds?
Its sources disagree. Clear's home page says "No speed caps". Its €12.99 price plan terms, effective 20 March 2025, cap 5G at 25 Mbps and 4G at 10 Mbps. The PDF may be out of date, but it is the plan document we found. Lidl Connect's service description gives maximum speeds up to 1 Gbit/s on 5G.
Frequently asked questions
Does Clear Mobile support eSIM?
No. Clear’s help pages say: “No. Clear Mobile only provides physical SIM cards.” Lidl Connect supports eSIM in the Lidl Plus app.
Do I need to give Clear Mobile 30 days’ notice?
Not when you move your number. Clear’s general terms let the agreement end with 30 days’ notice or on completion of the porting process.
How do I contact Clear Mobile?
Clear’s 2026 customer charter says support is by live chat and that there is no phone channel. Its older general terms list a free complaints line, so the two disagree.
Is Clear Mobile cheaper than Lidl Connect?
Over a first year they cost the same: Clear’s free first month is offset by its €12.99 activation fee. After that, both are €12.99 a month.
Where these facts come from
Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.
- Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- €12.99 price plan terms, Clear Mobile, 2025-03-20 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Clear Mobile, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- 3G retirement, ComReg (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- General terms, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Porting, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Customer charter, Clear Mobile, 2026-01-05 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Getting started, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- S.I. No. 444/2022 European Union (Electronic Communications Code) Regulations 2022, Irish Statute Book, 2022-09-06 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Keep your number, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Unlock your phone, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Code of practice, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect Service Description, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-10-01 (checked 2026-10-10)Official